Kent to award Women county caps
Kent to award Women county caps

Kent Cricket have announced that 45 Kent Women stars, past and present, will be awarded County Caps in 2020.

Supported by Canterbury Christ Church University since 2015, the Kent Women have a proud tradition of successes across both formats of the women’s game, especially in this millennium.

County caps are presented to players that have excelled for their county or given many years’ service to Kent, and 219 county caps have been awarded so far to Kent’s men’s players, starting in 1882.

In recognition of Kent Women’s achievements since their first official match in 1935, including a record eight County Championship titles, caps will be awarded to women starting from the 2020 season onwards.

In line with the club’s men’s team, caps will be awarded for contributions made across the length and breadth of Kent Women’s 84 years of history to date.

Full details on the 45 women who will be awarded county caps will be announced in the coming season.

Kent Women’s Head Coach, David Hathrill, said: “I’m really pleased that we are rewarding the contributions and successes of so many players that have represented Kent in the women’s game.

“To have won as many accolades as we have as a county over the past 84 years is something we can be proud of, and it now feels “right” that we recognise those players who have gone above and beyond for Kent Women.”

Kent’s Director of Cricket, Paul Downton, said: “We have awarded caps to the best of our men’s players for over 135 years, and we are rightly proud of our heritage in women’s cricket.

“Awarding county caps to Kent’s Women, in line with our men’s side, is a natural progression for our successful women’s team.

“Kent Cricket’s partnership with Canterbury Christ Church University has enabled us to elevate the women’s game in Kent, and everyone at the club is delighted that we are now able to recognise the best of our Kent Women, especially in the club’s 150th Year.”