Spitfires hoping for T20 progress
Spitfires hoping for T20 progress

Kent Spitfires will take on Surrey on Thursday in the 2020 T20 Blast Quarter Finals, with the winner progressing to Finals Day on Saturday.

After finishing third in the south group after 10 games, Kent were drawn away to group winners Surrey and the two teams will play out the latest ‘Oldest Rivalry’ clash at The Oval on Thursday afternoon for a place in the semi-finals of the tournament.

Kent and Surrey met twice in the group stage – the Spitfires won by five wickets at Canterbury before Surrey easily chased down 160 in Kennington – and it is all to play for here with no room for error.

Kent have a full strength squad to choose from for the game. Sam Billings, Daniel Bell-Drummond, Zak Crawley – who was awarded an England central contract on Wednesday – and Joe Denly are all set to be involved and are in a 15-man squad named by the club.

It is Daniel Bell-Drummond who tops the run-scoring charts for Kent this year, with 420 runs at an average of 46.66 so far. In fact, he has scored the most runs of any player in the tournament – seven ahead of Middlesex’s Stevie Eskinazi. Zak Crawley is not far behind with 335 runs at 41.87.

Laurie Evans boasts an impressive average of 60.20 with the bat for Surrey, scoring 301 runs across eight matches, whilst the likes of Hashim Amla, Rory Burns and Jason Roy help shape an impressive line up.

Fred Klaassen has the most wickets for Kent this campaign, with 13 scalps at an average of 26.53. Daniel Moriarty leads the way for Surrey, with 14 wickets at an average of 17.35. He also boasts an impressive economy rate of 6.75.

If play is not possible on Thursday, the reserve day for the fixture is Friday. If a result is again not possible on Friday, an indoor ‘bowl-off’ will be held, which will see five bowlers from each side bowl two deliveries each, and the team that hits the stumps the most times out of the ten balls will qualify for Finals Day.

If the bowl-off is tied, there will be a coin toss to decide who makes the trip to Edgbaston.

The winner of the game will face either Gloucestershire or Northamptonshire Steelbacks in the semi-finals.

Supporters cannot attend the game, but the match will be streamed live on Facebook. 

Kent Spitfires squad to face Surrey: Sam Billings (C), Daniel Bell-Drummond, Alex Blake, Jordan Cox, Zak Crawley, Joe Denly, Tim Groenewald, Calum Haggett, Fred Klaassen, Heino Kuhn, Jack Leaning, Matt Milnes, Marcus O’Riordan, Imran Qayyum, Grant Stewart.

Surrey squad to face Kent Spitfires: Gareth Batty (C), Hashim Amla, Gus Atkinson, Scott Borthwick, Rory Burns, Jordan Clark, Ricky Clarke, Matt Dunn, Laurie Evans, Ben Foakes, Will Jacks, Daniel Moriarty, Jamie Overton, Liam Plunkett, Jason Roy, Jamie Smith, Reece Topley.