Hampshire vs Kent – Preview
Hampshire vs Kent – Preview

Kent Spitfires will be hoping to bounce back from their first 2020 T20 Blast defeat of the summer today when they take on Hampshire at the Ageas Bowl. 

The Canterbury team suffered a comprehensive eight wicket defeat at the hands of new South group leaders Sussex on Saturday and will be hoping to put things right during the trip west.

And the Spitfires welcome back fire bowler Matt Milnes to the squad after the seamer missed the game on Saturday. His partner in the four-day game, Harry Podmore, also joins the Kent squad for the first time in a T20 match this season.

Kent will still be without Sam Billings and Tim Groenewald through international duty and illness respectively, but the likes of Alex Blake, Zak Crawley and Joe Denly are all set to feature.

Hampshire will go into the game low on confidence after suffering three Vitality Blast losses in a row, the most recent on Saturday – a 19 run defeat to Middlesex chasing 143 to win.

And Kent will be boosted by their recent Bob Willis Trophy win against their opponents, which concluded just six days prior to the T20 game.

And in the reverse fixture, Kent looked well set to take the win at 52/0 from 4.1 overs chasing 140 to win before rain interfered.

Though the Hants’ squad does look stronger than those matches. Club captain James Vince is available, as is Pakistan international Shaheen Afridi.

Hoping to fire for Kent with the bat will be Daniel-Bell Drummond, who has 257 runs at 51.40 this tournament, and Zak Crawley, who has 196 runs at 39.20, whilst Fred Klaassen, who has eight wickets to his name so far from six games, will be hoping to lead the way with the ball. 

For Hampshire, Tom Alsop (171 runs at 28.50) and Mason Crane (seven wickets at 13.28) will be expected to perform for the fifth-placed team.

The game is being behind behind closed doors, but a live stream will be available online.

Kent Spitfires squad to face Hampshire: Daniel Bell-Drummond (C), Alex Blake, Jordan Cox, Zak Crawley, Joe Denly, Calum Haggett, Fred Klaassen, Heino Kuhn, Jack Leaning, Matt Milnes, Marcus O’Riordan, Harry Podmore, Imran Qayyum, Ollie Robinson, Grant Stewart.

Hampshire squad to face Kent Spitfires: James Vince (C), Shaheen Afridi, Tom Alsop, Mason Crane, Ajeet Dale, James Fuller, Calvin Harrison, Ian Holland, Lewis McManus, Sam Northeast, Felix Organ, Ryan Stevenson, Joe Weatherley, Brad Wheal, Chris Wood.