Five Kent Kings to feature
Five Kent Kings to feature
Five of the 2019 Kent TouchTec Kings are competing for British Speedway’s first national title of the season, the British Under 21 championship title, with a quartet of Kings all taking to track in the first semi-final at the Isle of Wight circuit on Maundy Tuesday, April 16th.

The riders beginning their Easter weekend early are Anders Rowe, Alex Spooner, new heat leader Jordan Jenkins and reigning British 250cc British champ, Nathan Ablitt.  It will be the start of a busy weekend for the four terrific teens as they then go straight into National Trophy action on Good Friday for the TouchTec-sponsored Kings, travelling further down the south coast to Plymouth to take on that naval city’s side who have a new team name for 2019, the Plymouth Gladiators.  Then of course on the Bank Holiday Monday (April 22nd.), it’s the long-anticipated first appearance at their Central Park Stadium home for the Kent side taking on Belle Vue Colts (4.00pm start time).
The U-21 semi final will be the most competitive yet with only the top three making it to the Final at Berwick on April 27th. with the challengers standing in the way of the Kent quartet including the highly rated Ryan Kinsley who will be riding in the SGB Championship this coming season for Scunthorpe and another former Mildenhall man, Luke Ruddick who will be riding for National League newcomers , Leicester Lions Cubs in 2019.
The second semi-final takes place on Good Friday at Somerset’s Oaktree Arena.
The good news for Drew Kemp, the TouchTec Kings’ number one for the new campaign, is that his reward for making it to the GB U21 Final last year as a 15 year old, one of the first ever to do so, is a seeded place direct to the Final – where he’ll be joined by among others, the winner the past two years, GB international Robert Lambert, former Kent rider and still a huge Kings’ fan favourite, Jack Thomas (now with Ruddick at Leicester), GB U19 reigning champion, Dan Bewley and former holder of that title, Swindon’s Zach Wajtknecht.
British Youth boss Neil Vatcher said,
“I think the two semis look like really exciting meetings.  It would be impossible to pick the six riders who will claim their place in the British Under-21 Final, just eight days after the second semi.”
SEMI-FINAL 1, ISLE OF WIGHT, April 16: Ryan Kinsley (Scunthorpe Scorpions), ANDERS ROWE (Kent TouchTec Kings), JORDAN JENKINS (Kent TouchTec Kings), Luke Ruddick (Leicester Lion Cubs), Ben Woodhull (Belle Vue Colts), ALEX SPOONER (Kent TouchTec Kings), Jordan Palin (Belle Vue Colts), Joe Alcock (Stoke Potters), Jamie Bursill (Plymouth Gladiators), NATHAN ABLITT (Kent TouchTec Kings), Connor King (Isle of Wight Warriors), Chad Wirtzfeld (Isle of Wight Warriors).
BRITISH UNDER 21-FINAL SEEDS: Robert Lambert (King’s Lynn Stars), Dan Bewley (Belle Vue Aces), Zach Wajtknecht (Swindon Robins), Nathan Greaves (Redcar Bears), Jack Smith (Redcar Bears), Jack Thomas (Leicester Lion Cubs), DREW KEMP (Kent TouchTec Kings), Leon Flint (Belle Vue Colts), Tom Brennan (Cradley Heathens), Kyle Bickley (Belle Vue Colts),