Duo make Kent Kings return
Duo make Kent Kings return

Two faces very familiar to Kent Speedway fans return to Central Park Stadium this year as the TouchTec Kings confirmed their line up for the forthcoming SGB Championship season.

Returning to the Kings for the first time since 2015 is Ben Morley.  The 26 year old from Southend was an original member of the Kings line up in 2013 and became the club captain for a successful campaign three seasons later when he helped the side to the National League Pairs title and bagged for himself the league’s individual Riders Championship title.

Ben has won that NLRC title twice (the second time while an Isle of Wight rider in 2018) and has remained a very potent performer around Central Park where he has always remained a hugely popular rider with the Kent faithful. With a spot vacant in the reserve berth for the TouchTec-sponsored Kings’ step up to the second tier Championship league (where Ben has had considerable experience riding for Rye House and Redcar), it’s a real coup for the Kent management to have been able to slot in a rider of Morley’s undoubted scoring potential.

And talking of crowd pleasing and legendary status around Kentish Speedway circles, they don’t come more impressive than co-promoter Len Sliver & Chris Hunt’s pick to complete the septet for 2021.  It’s multi-national champion (a prolific title-winner at Speedway and its sister sports of Grass Track and Long Track), Paul Hurry.  The Canterbury-born speedster has had two previous spells in the Invicta race jacket in previous recent campaigns and will be looking forward this time to a full season back at Championship level where he’s twice been a league title winner during his stellar 30 year Speedway career.

The full confirmed line up then for what will now be a May start to the SGBC season (the league having agreed on a later than usual start to fit in with anticipated requirements regarding spectators returning to live sport in respect of Covid restrictions) is:

Scott Nicholls  (average: 8.35)

Cameron Heeps   (7.42)

Paul Starke  (6.49)

Paul Hurry  (5.87)

Tom Bacon  (5.20)

Ben Morley  (3.81)

Daniel Gilkes (2.00)

Skipper Scott Nicholls is delighted with the confirmed line up: “Kent is a new challenge for me with exciting times ahead. Bringing in my very good friend, Paul (Hurry), was a no brainer when we lost Nico. He is now in training with me and we are both working hard to be as fit as we can. I know he is arranging to get two very fast engines too. I can’t wait to be skipper of the Kings.”

Team boss Chris Hunt commented: “Every single one of the seven is eager to ride for us and we have a good mix of experience and youth.”