Six Kent players in Team of the Year
Six Kent players in Team of the Year

Kent football was well represented in the Football Conference end of season awards announced at the dinner that followed the Annual General Meeting.Jamie Day3

Conference South Welling United received prizes aplenty including Jamie Day’s award as the league’s Manager of the Year.

Day (away with an Arsenal Legends team in Barbados) was also one of no less than five Wings who featured in the league’s team of the year.

Alongside Day, were four Wings defenders in recognition of them having the meanest defence in the league, although the fact that they were also the most prolific scorers was not reflected with an attacking midfielder or striker being chosen.

All three of Welling’s squad centre halves were honoured. Anthony Acheampong and Fraser Franks, who had represented England C in Bermuda earlier in the week, were joined by Ben Martin who has now left the club for St Albans City.

Also selected, as a result of the votes received from all the clubs in the league, was Welling’s current longest serving player, Loui Fazakerley.

The other Kent based player in the team was former Welsh Under 21 international goalkeeper Lee Worgan who had an outstanding season for Tonbridge Angels. Surprisingly he has now dropped down a league to sign for Maidstone United.

Full awards list:

Conference South Manager of the Year: Jamie Day (Welling United).

Conference South Player of the Year: Ollie Palmer (Havant & Waterlooville).

Golden Boot Joint Winners: Ollie Palmer (Havant & Waterlooville) and Jamie White (Salisbury).

Respect Team of the Year: Sutton United.

Community Club of the Year Award: Havant & Waterlooville.

Programme of the Year: Chelmsford City

Conference South Team of the Season:

1.     Lee Worgan (Tonbridge Angels)

2.     Ben Martin (Welling United)

3.     Anthony Acheampong (Welling United)

4.     Fraser Franks (Welling United)

5.     Kenny Clark (Chelmsford City)

6.     Glen Southam (Eastleigh)

7.     Jamie Slabber (Chelmsford City)

8.     Jamie Day (Welling United)

9.     Jamie White (Salisbury City)

10.  Ollie Palmer (Havant & Waterlooville)

11.  Loui Fazakerley (Welling United)