Kent Kings set for Devils test
Kent Kings set for Devils test
Kent SLYDE Kings look to get off to winning ways in the 2018 National Trophy [NT] and preserve their long 100% winning record at home (up to 15 matches in all competitions after last Monday’s win over Buxton) when they take on Plymouth Devils at Central Park Stadium on Monday.

Kent’s team boss Chris Hunt brings in local youngster James Laker at reserve – the teenager from Sandwich replaces injury victim (suffering a broken foot in that match against Buxton on Bank Holiday Monday), Jacob Clouting.

Meanwhile, Anders Rowe celebrated his 16th. birthday with a first selection as a ‘Guest’ by a rival side, when Mildenhall called the Kent youngster up yesterday (Sunday) to ride for them in a KOC tie at West Row (Anders renewing acquaintances with Buxton). The teenager continued his good start to the season with paid nine including a notable race win over former GB U21 champion Ben Wilson.

There are injury woes for the Plymouth Devils’ recently-installed team boss Matt Bates too – and it unfortunately means no early season return in visiting team colours for former Kings’ man Bradley Andrews. The popular Kiwi crashed out riding for Cradley in the other NT Group at Stoke on Saturday night and is sidelined from this one. Coming in as ‘Guest’ replacement is GB U21 finalist (who rides for Eastbourne), Jason Edwards.

Plymouth can use a ‘Guest’ as they have a further absentee – their experienced James Cockle has fallen foul of the authorities’ clamp down on inappropriate use of social media by active riders and he is currently in the middle of a racing ban. The Devils are able to use the Rider Replacement facility nonetheless to cover for their suspended rider.

Teams (in alphabetical order):

Kent SLYDE Kings:

Luke Bowen; Taylor Hampshire; James Laker; Anders Rowe; Alex Spooner; Nathan Stoneman; Jack Thomas

Plymouth Devils:

Richard Andrews; Henry Atkins; Jason Edwards [G]; Macauley Leek; Adam Roynon; Ryan Terry-Daley; R/R for James Cockle; no. 8 tba

The action gets underway at Central Park Stadium at 6.30pm (gates open at 5pm)