Beckenham crowned Premier League champions
Beckenham crowned Premier League champions

Beckenham are Premier League Champions after a resounding 158 run victory over Holmesdale.

This is their first victory since the foundation of the ECB Premier League structure, their only other title was in 1983 in the then sole division of the Kent League.

At the other end of the table, results fell favourably for Sevenoaks Vine and they stave off relegation on the final day with a win away at Blackheath whilst Hartley lost at home to Bexley. Those result permutations send Hartley down to Division 1 in 2018 with Holmesdale. They will be replaced by Division 1 Champions Bickley Park and runners up, Bromley Common, to both whom we offer a welcome to the Premier League. It is a first visit to this level for Bromley Common.

A magnificent 146 by Alex Blake firstly ensured Beckenham bagged the four points required to secure the title, and then, assisted by an unbeaten 52 by Johan Malcolm and 41 by Ollie Robinson, propelled them to a formidable 313- 5, having elected to bat at Foxgrove Road against Holmesdale. With the title in the bag the home side still came out fighting after tea and bowled Holmesdale out for 155. The deserved celebration began in front of a good home crowd. Congratulations to Alex Senn and his side for a highly successful season.

Olive Durrell and John Bowden put on a century opening partnership for Sevenoaks Vine at Blackheath. Bowden departed first for 38 with the score on exactly 100. Durrell batted on to make 85 and with the assistance of 24 from Ollie Howick and a breezy 34 by Michael Barber, the Vine reached 228-7 at the half way stage. Karl Pearson and Tom Coldman took three apiece, as Blackheath struggled for runs. Richard Fleming with 50, and twenties from Joe Kerridge, Tanweer Sikander and Mehdi Abbas apart Blackheath fell 61 runs short. Did the Vine yet know the outcome from Hartley or visa versa?

Either way the facts were clear. For the Sevenoaks side to stay up, they must win and Hartley lose. The Vine had done their bit. Sadly for Hartley, things did not go well for them at Culvey Close. Due to recent heavy rain, a start on time was not possible but conditions improved to allow a twenty over a side game. Hartley invited their visitors to bat and they were soon in full flow. Matt Cross led the way with 46, Aryan Jain added 37 and everyone else chipped in as the blasted their way to 191-6 from their allocation. This was a big ask and so it was to prove. James Hockley and Dominic Hendricks both scored rapid 30’s but no one else reached double figures as Hartley could only muster 110. Adam Riley took 4-28 and Michael Stevenson 3-10 as their fate was sealed.

Basit Raja took 4-43 and Jack Laraman 3-26 as Lordswood reduced Tunbridge Wells to 124-7 at the Nevill. The home side were finally bowled out for 151. Laraman then dug in for 59 and with 30 from Fabian Cowdrey, Lordswood passed the post with seven down.

No play was possible at Tenterden where Sandwich were due to do battle.

And so the close of another season, hard fought in good spirits. Congratulations to Beckenham, commiserations to the losers but you have all played a valuable part in a highly absorbing year of cricket in 2017. Let planning begin for 2018!



WEEK 18 – 2 September 2017


Beckenham 313-5 beat Holmesdale 155-10 by 158 runs

Blackheath 167-10 lost to Sevenoaks Vine 228-7 by 61 runs

Hartley 110-10 lost to Bexley 191-6 by 81 runs

Tenterden v Sandwich Town abandoned

Tunbridge Wells 151-10 lost to Lordswood 154-7 by 3 wickets